• May 6, 2017 at 3:48 pm #67522
    Profile gravatar of UpgreyddUpgreydd
    Participant

First of all, I am not a musician, so am really ignorant about how to play anything.   So, any who, I was just in my car and the song the hit song from a few years ago “Get Lucky”  by Daft Punk came on the radio.  I noticed something when I was listening to it:  The lower part of the song, the bass part (if you can call it that since I”m pretty sure it was all electronic) changed or went to a different note a little bit ahead of everything else before they were all on the same page again.  It made the music jump and come alive.      There’s no doubt this element came from Nile Rogers who produced the song and is the reason why it was such a hit.    He’s from the old school, (Funny how to my ears its often people from the old school breathe new life into music,)  just  like Bill is.  And I think  it’s this very affect that he helped bring to the Stone’s music and why its never been the same since he left.   He played the changes a little bit head of everyone else. Or maybe he stayed a little behind and followed Keith?  The end result is  he made the music Jump and gave it movement and depth.   Or in other words:  he made it sound more like actual music.

May 6, 2017 at 4:02 pm #67523
    Profile gravatar of Cocaine EyesCocaine Eyes
    Participant

For me and for my loving Bill’s sound, it was always about the “wobble”. Here’s an explanation:

In the Crossfire Hurricane documentary, Bill mentioned that Charlie Watts always played a little behind Keith’s guitar, while Bill played a little ahead. He described that as giving their music a little “wobble,” what made it sound a little loose without actually crossing the line into sloppy. That was a big part of why they sounded the way they did, and maybe that’s why they never sounded the same to you again. Little changes like that can affect the sound of a band a lot.

~CE

May 6, 2017 at 4:05 pm #67524
    Participant